Flight plans   Leave a comment

Before about 2002 I was not a flyer. In fact , I was not a flyer at all, for many, many years. When the only practical way to get my kids to Disney was a flight, I took pills prescribed by my Dr. To get on board. Today I can fly with little anxiety, which is why I am writing this on a plane somewhere over Missouri I assume.
I had a busy day today, taking Sarah to day two of the bar, taking Wrigley to the animal hospital where he stays when I go away, bringing Sarah lunch, packing, and then to the airport.
The text from the airline saying my flight would be delayed ignited the idea we would go to Margaritaville. I have been to about six of Jimmy Buffet’s famous restaurants, and have been excited to visit the one in my hometown which was opened while I was gone. I kept trying to find a good time to visit, but there never was one. Today was it!
We headed to Navy Pier, dodging lallapalooza closings along the way.
We paid an absurd amount to park, but it was worth it to see the crooners’ namesake in my own city. Unfortunately, another text while eating told me the flight was once again on time, and according to that schedule, I should have checked in at the airport ten minutes ago! Check please!
Since we were now in a hurry I missed getting a chance to browse the store and get a Chicago Margaritaville item.
As I was hurrying to get to the airport, Sarah and I talked. Since I had been driving her around for 3 days, I had told her many stories about various places we passed. She was tired, exhausted from the grueling test, so she let me talk but finally decided I would make a great tour guide. Yes, that is my true gift! She pointed out the guy on the double decker with the microphone and said “that should be you”. We laughed about how I could tell all my stories to people who would appreciate them, instead of my kids who I keep repeating them to.
She has a point, so I told her I’d look into it for my weekends!
We made it to the airport in time for me to check in and sit there waiting for a while.
I am heading to Wichita, where I will help Jonathan move his stuff to Houston. He starts his new job on Monday! It is always fun and exciting to start a new job, but especially when he will be doing something he has dreamed of. It’s not quite the four letter king of sports, but it is a national syndicated station, and quite a position for him to be in.
I think when the kids were little I was too afraid to fly for fear of something going wrong. I think I wanted too badly to know how they would grow up, and now I know. They are all self sufficient, with lives of their own. They don’t need me too much anymore, but when they do, I kind of like it. I want to hang around and help as much as I can, but I am certain they would be fine without me. So I board the plane and hardly wince at the turbulence.

20130731-214519.jpg

Posted August 1, 2013 by Laveda in Uncategorized

Leave a comment