Change in Direction   2 comments

After starting this blog for my travels, it seems if things go well, I may be in one place for a while, so I have decided to change the direction of the blog. Heck, who am I kidding, the blog was always whatever I wanted to write about! But now it may have a different slant.

I am so happy I got to travel, at a rather young age, around the country, and see and do all the cool things I wrote about. I am so glad I wrote about them and they are chronicled, because I know I don’t remember the details too much. However, now I am a late 40s woman, on my own, returning to school to get my Doctorate. I have limited income, and will be accumulating student loans, if a school will accept me. I am hoping for some type of assistance, a fellowship, etc. and will be chronicling my story about trying to get into a good school and how to financially make it happen. I am hoping to continue losing weight, I have been at a standstill for a few months now, so that will be part of the equation as well.

Because of my procrastination, and ignorance concerning the 3 classes in Education I need for my Master’s Degree, I will be spending the next semester in a Campground right near my school, in St. Charles, so I can complete my last semester, and be able to send final transcripts to the schools with my admissions. Some of the programs require a Masters Degree, but others do not. I will be applying to several schools, once I finish the GRE. If you don;t know about the GRE, I don’t have hours to write how I feel right now about it, but it is required for PhD programs and your score matters for the assistantships and fellowships I so desperately need. Because of this, I will be studying hard and taking the GRE tis fall, (date has been changed due my needing to be in St. Charles, MO, for the semester).

On another note, The ONLY place for me to live while in St. Charles does not allow motorcycles, so I will have to purchase or rent a vehicle for the time I am there. I am not happy about this, because my scooter is so reasonable and definitely a fu way to travel, but it seems like this is the only way to do this…although I keep thinking of other ways.

My immediate time consists of finishing up my Summer double semester of 3 classes! (which I am supposed to be working on projects from as I write!) then I will be taking Sarah to the testing for the Bar at the end of the month (fingers crossed for her, she has been studying so hard) then she starts her new job with the city of Chicago! I will be off to Houston where Jonathan will be relocating for his new job with Yahoo! Sports Radio, doing on air work, full time, with them! My kids are so much cooler than I could have hoped for! Sam is still looking for his next big thing, but he worked for CBS Sports for the John Deere Classic, and is working camera for media com, so I am confident he will land something great. David is plugging away, working hard, and Jody is in the accelerated Nursing program, which keeps them on their toes!!

I am truly blessed, and look forward to the twists and turns as I return to regular blogging, focused on my educational and fitness goals. I hope you will continue to read. even if you only read for my trip before. I am sure I will still have adventures and misadventures along the way. My life is interesting, for sure!

Thank you all.

The best four projects I have ever been a part of:

Image

Posted July 21, 2013 by Laveda in Uncategorized

2 responses to “Change in Direction

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love reading about your adventures. You are truly an amazing woman and I am blessed to have met you in your travels. I hope the very best for you.

Leave a comment